It’s the little things

It’s odd little moments that I stop and realize- wow I’m proud of what I’m doing with my life. 

Today I had to write a bio for myself… drum roll please…

squirrel-cursing-the-bond-markets

…in Spanish.

Why?

Because I have recently joined the Board of Directors of the Society for Intercultural Education Training and Research (blahhhhh long title, lets go with the acronym) – SIETAR España.  This weekend I fly to Barcelona for our first board meeting, assembly and a training workshop offered free for board members. ummm WOOT!

Somebody pinch me.

But no.  I worked my *$$ off to get here. And this rocks.  I’m totally stoked, dude.

Reading my biography in Spanish, I realize – whoa, I speaky-another-language-y. And also, I understand what the bleep it says. How weird is that?

Another strange occurence? I wrote an email in Spanish to the department head of an MBA program here in Spain, in Spanish.  Strange times.

So here it is – TA DA…

Vanessa Shaw se unió al campo intercultural trabajando como facilitadora en Nueva York  en Universidades y ONGs. Viajó a más de 50 universidades de los Estados Unidos que promueven el aprendizaje-servicio y el valor del  intercambio cultural. Estos esfuerzos se realizaron en colaboración con una iniciativa de la Casa Blanca y el Consejo Económico y Social de las Naciones Unidas. De vuelta en California se unió a un programa de formación centrado en startups dirigidas por mujeres, nuevas empresas de tecnología de alto crecimiento en Silicon Valley. Ahora reside en Madrid, donde se especializa en ayudar interculturalistas y organizaciones interculturales y  comercializar sus servicios, productos y dar a conocer su marca a través de social media marketing. Algunos clientes clave incluyen el Instituto de Comunicación Intercultural, con Dr. Milton Bennett y su Instituto de Investigación para el Desarrollo Intercultural y SIETAR Europa.

 

**Note, mispellings in English are 100% due to acquisition of el castellano.  It is not my fault that my brain can only handle so many words, spelling information and vocabulory. Thanks for understanding.

 

Oh, and one more thing. Spanish is fun. And funny.  A ver…

 

photo (1)

2 thoughts on “It’s the little things

Leave a Reply

